Deacon Nominations

  1. Members of Forest Hills Baptist Church may nominate up to ten (10) persons to serve as a deacon for a three-year term beginning January 2019.
  2. Fewer nominations than ten are permitted, but forms with more than ten nominations will be discarded.
  3. Please return nominations by Sunday, September 19th to the box in The Gathering Place or by filling out a form below. Nomination forms will not be received or counted after that date.
  4. The following are ineligible for nomination:
  • Deacons rotating off at the end of 2018
  • Spouses of Active Deacons     
  • Spouses of staff members
  •  Active Deacons
  • Non-members of FHBC

    5. Nomination forms must be signed by the member submitting the form to be counted.

    6. Forest Hills seeks broad age-group representation on the Diaconate. To encourage this, please make an attempt to nominate people within each age category.  Please use your best guess at ages if you are uncertain about the age category for a potential nominee.

   7.   The 2018 Diaconate is listed below:

Through 2018

A.G. Bullard

Beth Eakes

Suzie Goodell

Tom Revak

Graham Spencer

Buck Goode

Bobby Vick

Through 2019

(Spouses Ineligible)

Tripp Ake

John Cornwell

Eric McDonald

Robert Singleton

John Graham Spencer

Donnie Wiltshire


Through 2020

(Spouses Ineligible)

Bryan Duff

Susan Gentry

Martha Harrell

Jessica Harris

Wilson Laney

Paul Suber

Kathryn Wright

Submitted by
Name *
Your Age Range

Standing Committee Nominations

Below is a list of current standing committees in our church as well as those who are currently serving on a committee.  With each committee is a brief description as well as the number of open positions available.  Please carefully consider who would serve and fit well in the available positions and fill in their names in the spaces on the form.  The nominating committee will review and consider the congregation’s selections and vote on nominees at the November church conference.  If you have any questions please contact the chair of the Nominating Committee, Suzie Goodell (suziegoodell@gmail.com).  Please return nominations by Wednesday, September 19, 2018 to the box in The Gathering Place or by filling out a form below.  

The following are ineligible for nomination:

a. Committee members rotating off at the end of 2018

b. Spouses of Active committee members (for that specific committee only) 

c. Spouses of staff members

d. Active committee members

e. Non-members of FHBC


Committee Members with Term Ending 2018:

Financial Management Committee:

Michael Boyles

Cheryl Hibbs

Bylaws Committee:

Stephen Edwards

Brad Hibbs

Personnel Committee:

John Davis

Candace Vick

Property Management Committee:

Aaron Goulding

Tom Revak

Denise Young

Bob Norris

Connections Preschool Committee:

Leigh McDonald

Jay Andrews 

Bylaws Committee
Revise our Bylaws to reflect how FHBC functions as an organization under the existing structure. Meets on an as needed basis
1. Derek Graham 2. Carey Muse
Connections Preschool Committee
Provides leadership and oversight to Connections Preschool. Meets on an as needed basis.
1. Renee Ake 2. Anna Taylor 3. Whitney Goulding 4. Beverly Spencer
Financial Management
Recommends budget goals to church leadership, develops an investment and asset protection policy, recommends insurance-related actions and reviews church financial records. Meets on a monthly basis.
1. Alex Holmes 2. Taylor Freeman 3. Debbie Capps 4. Mary Weaver
Personnel Committee
Recommends to church individuals to fill staff positions, maintains church policies that pertain to all employed personnel, handles annual employee performance evaluations, and supports all church staff. Meets on a monthly basis.
1. Frances Overby 2. Wilson Laney 3. Parker Flowers 4. Joy Phillips
Property Management Committee
Ensures church property is cared for through established policies for use of facilities, maintenance of missionary house, maintain church vehicles for reliability and safety. Meets on a monthly basis.
1. Kevin Bellamy 2. Rick Chapman 3. Dora Cornwell 4. Karen Haake 5. Crowell Bowers 6. Janice Broniak 7. Gail Laney 8. Stephen Whitfield